My brother is healing, which is good news.  He and our sister-in-law called on Sunday to wish little Darren a happy birthday.  There I was, talking with Susan on speakerphone; and across the line came my brother’s muffled voice!  It was great!  Thus far, they wired his jaw shut and “fixed” his nose. I’m pretty sure that Susan was expecting him to be less verbose with his jaw wired shut.  Poor girl.  She married my brother, who never had a thought he didn’t enjoy articulating.  A little wire won’t stop that.

🙂

There may be reconstructive surgery for one side of his face…or maybe not.  He’s been looking better with the swelling going down, and the doctor said there may be no need.  But, even on Sunday he said that he was in pretty bad pain.  Please continue to pray for him as he heals.

In other news:  I asked my Wednesday night crowd to read through Proverbs during the month of December.  Today is December 30th, so I read Proverbs 30.

Verses 8-9 really caught my attention.

Keep falsehood and lies far from me;
give me neither poverty nor riches,
but give me only my daily bread.

Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you
and say, ‘Who is the LORD ?’
Or I may become poor and steal,
and so dishonor the name of my God.

That speaks to my vocational striving.  Who doesn’t want riches?  I have a family, with a wife that would prefer to stay how with her child.  However, we can’t do that on a single income in our society at the moment.  But, there is danger in riches as well.  For me, I’m sure it would be pride.  My pride in myself, in my self-accomplishment.  That would draw me away from God.  Perhaps just requesting my daily bread is enough.

My Father, who is in heaven.  Holy is your name.  Your Kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.  Give me this day, my daily bread.  Forgive me my trespasses, as I forgive those that have trespassed against me.  Lead me not into temptation, but deliver me from evil.  For your’s is the Kingdom, the Power and the Glory forever.

Amen

