I seem to learn something new about people all of the time.  This Sunday however, I learned something that really impressed me.

There is someone in my church that I consider a hero.  When I first became the pastor, he wasn’t even attending.  However, within a couple of years, he and his wife started coming regularly.  I was told to never expect him to join, he just wasn’t going to do it.  Fast forward a couple of years, and he attended a men’s group that met in my house and he had joined the church!

Al is a quiet man, doesn’t say a whole lot at all.  He lets me know that he enjoys my preaching at the end of the service, accompanied with a handshake and a smile.  Al isn’t a young man anymore, now well into his eighties.

I knew that he was a WWII veteran, from some time we spent together in that men’s group.  I was impressed then.  Al was a member of the Special Forces, and was a guard at the Nuremburg Trials.  What I didn’t know was that he also landed at Normandy, specifically – Omaha Beach.

He’s been a quiet and gentle man, as long as I’ve known him.  He’s lived through quite a bit, some of it quite harrowing; I’m sure.  He’s done what he was called to do, without complaint.  He’s faught through fear, defending himself and others, and now lives out a quiet life in a quiet town.

I am blessed to know him.  Our church is blessed that he’s a member.  You just never do know what stories some hearts harbor.  Giants walk among us, and we are unaware.

Tim

