No one can accuse me of being cutting edge.  This news is old, as news tends to go.  However, I do have one degree from Baylor, so I thought I would chime in.

To be honest, this hit me with all the force of a very small snowflake.

My first thought wasn’t, “OH MY GOSH, NONONONONO!”  Instead it was, “Who did what that it takes a prosecutor to come in and clean it up as the Baylor President?”

This was before I took time to read up on the guy.  Yes, he innately is a polarizing figure.  No doubt about that.  However, he seems to have done good things at his last place of service.  I could care less that he isn’t a practicing Baptist.  Honestly, I don’t care if he becomes one once he gets to Waco.

However, if he does join a Baptist Church, and he hasn’t gone through Believer’s Baptism, I would hope that he would be willing to undergo it.

His Christian service seems to be beyond reproach to me.  I could be wrong on that.

If he does for Baylor half of what he did for Pepperdine; then I’ll be a happy camper.

Now, I must admit that I’m biased…in a manner of speaking.  I said that I had one degree from Baylor, but it wasn’t my undergrad.  I’m a graduate of Howard Payne University, class of 1996!

Huzzah!

If people decide to give their money elsewhere; I would love to recommend the little college in Brownwood.

🙂

Tim

