With this third installment, I’ll bring to a close my Mary Poppins musings.

Near the end of the movie, after the Chimney Sweep scene, Mr. Banks is feeling quite beaten.  Mary Poppins won’t explain what is going on, and she tells him so.  His house had been invaded by, less than tidy, chimney sweeps singing and frolicking around.  He has had a hard day at work, to say the least.  Thanks to his children’s desire to feed the birds, coupled with his son’s unwillingness to open an account, a serious brew-ha-ha erupted at the bank.  He knew he was in trouble. For him, his world has been turned upside down.  He may not know it yet, but he’s about to lose his job.  Not a good day for him, in the least.

So, there is Bert, cleaning up and getting ready to leave when Mr. Banks falls into a chair beaten and without hope.  He begins to sing, about lost hope, lost desire, lost motivation.  He comes to the conclusion that it is Mary Poppins’ fault, and to some extent he is right.  He needs to hit rock bottom before he will begin to look up.

Bert is just the guy needed to get Mr. Banks to look in another direction.

At first, Bert is sympathetic…well, to be honest, he does show sympathy to him through the whole process.  But, Bert begins to show Mr. Banks, that even though his position is so important; he’s missing the most important position of all…that of Father to his children.  Mr. Banks begins to see how much he is missing by being so singularly focused on his job.  He truly is missing the most important thing in life, the rearing of his own children.

We still face that today.

The people who seem to make the biggest impact in the world tend to not be well balanced.  I wish it were different, but I’ve yet to see anything different.  Most of the people I look up to tend to be older, having lived life.  All of them wished they would  have spent more time with their children, each and every one of them.  For those making the biggest impact, their kids are mostly grown up; and admit that they wouldn’t have been able to do half of the things they are doing, if they had small children.  These men are 50+ years old, and in the greatest position to make the greatest impact in their lives, within their community.

If the Lord desires to make an impact in my area though me, that is great!  However, I doubt he will do so if that means I miss out on the rearing of my child.  As a thirty-six year old father of a two-year old child, I face a particular temptation.  I’ve enough experience to be placed in some impactful situations.  I have enough drive to really want to be there.  And, the temptation will be to do that at the expense of my family.

This can not happen.

Tim

