Well, President Lowrie took down his post concerning violence against women.  I have no idea why.  It was a really great post.  He seemed to speak from the heart.

However, in a day of automated “readers,” there is no such thing as a true delete.  I’m sure that some, like me, still have a copy of it.

I grew up in a home with three brothers.  In a “boys will be boys” world I was accustom to rough housing with my brothers. Wrestling and fighting were common place at times and frankly I am embarrassed and saddened by the times when my anger got the best of me and I sinned. In fact, as a young man I apologized to one of my brothers for some of the cruel mean things I did to my brother.

One standard set high by my mom and dad was “boys don’t hit girls.” This was a code of honor that the fighting Lowrie boys held high.  Girls were to be treated with the highest respect and honor. Girls were to be protected and guarded. This is a standard I still hold high. As the father of four beautiful daughters I am alarmed by the cruel world my “little girls” are facing today. Violence against women has reached scary proportions. It is time for good guys to stand up and say enough is enough.

I remember with horror when I discovered that a young mother in my church was beaten by her husband who was a friend of mine. I could not believe it was happening. My first instinct was to get four of the biggest, meanest guys in my church (a group of Baptist bouncers)to go to his house and let him know in no uncertain terms that if he ever hurt her again he was going to answer to us. I wanted to give him a good dose of ol’ West justice. However, I  gained my composure and chose to confront him in private and worked to help him to get the help he needed.

I believe the Psalmist captured well what our commitment needs to be:

2 “How long will you defend the unjust
and show partiality to the wicked?
3 Defend the cause of the weak and fatherless;
maintain the rights of the poor and oppressed.
4 Rescue the weak and needy;
deliver them from the hand of the wicked. Psalms 82:2-4 (NIV)

I pray as spiritual leaders we will stand up and defend those at risk. Please, watch out for my daughters as I watch out for yours. God made us strong to defend and protect. It is high time for us to stand up.

Note: I wrote this blog in response to recent reports of possible abuse within our Baptist family. The fact we even need to have this kind of discussion breaks my heart.

See. It’s a great post.

Tim

