Well, it turns out that there is now an Updated NIV Translation.

I have to admit, I’m not that impressed.  I hope that they continue to sell the non-updated edition.

The “old” NIV has Matt. 12:34 saying: “You brood of vipers, how can you who are evil say anything good? For out of the overflow of the heart the mouth speaks.”

Here is a change:

The “updated” NIV has Matt. 12:34 saying: “You brood of vipers, how can you who are evil say anything good? For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.”

You can tell me which one you like better.  To me, it sounds to clunky.  I guess the thing that irks me the most is that if you go to Biblegateway, look up something under the NIV, it won’t tell you that it is the “updated” edition.  I hope that Zondervan will make sure that their actual bibles are marked as “updated.”

I’m under no illusion that the older NIV is any more or less inspired than the new NIV.  I’m sure this comes down to what one is comfortable with.  Again, I just hope that the non-updated edition will still be available.

Tim

