This is a picture of Opa and our eldest in a KS field.  I could be wrong, but I think that they are looking for snakes and scorpions.  If not, then they soon will be. I’m pretty sure it was the highlight of our eldest’s trip.

It took quite a bit to get here, though.

It was about an hour in a truck, of which the eldest still holds great disdain for.  He really wanted out about 15 minutes into the trip.

When we finally got out of the truck, in a field, next to a fence, with cows…and snakes…and scorpions in it,  he could hardly contain himself! He wanted to run, be free, and most of all not be held back by dear old dad.  The barbwire fence was only a minor hindrance towards his freedom, but luckily I was able to grab him shortly thereafter.

It was hard for him to follow me. About half of the time he was pulling me along to go faster! Part of the time he lagged behind to try and take a closer look at a blade of grass…or a snake…or a scorpion. Finally, it ended with him wanting to be carried through the high grass…cactus…snakes…scorpions.

You get the picture.

Following is hard work.

John 8:12 says:

When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

Following Jesus is hard work. 

I don’t know about you, but I want to pull ahead. At times I want him to slow down as I look at another “shiny” in the grass of my life. I too want to be carried, because I’m tired…frustrated…anxious… you get the picture.

I tell you what, walking in darkness has to be more dangerous than walking in that field. Yet to do so, I need to be following Jesus. I need to be following him to lead me through this life’s version of cactus…snakes…scorpions…and other nasty critters that lurk in the darkness.

My three year old almost stepped on a bull-snake while out there (which precipitated us looking for other snakes!).  I can only imagine what I may potentially step in if I’m not following Jesus.

What is Jesus keeping you from stepping in?

Tim

