I find myself in complete and utter shock as I write these words.

Last night, while on a mission trip to Israel, Tommy Teague (Pastor of North Richland Hills Baptist Church) passed away.

The tears are here, the pain is just starting in my chest as I begin to take in what this means.

You see, Tommy was my peer group leader in Leader’s Edge (now called Servant’s Edge). He was as mentor in ministry. He was a sound voice of reason, when partisan (baptist) politics to often got in the way. He always had time to talk with me, when others found me beneath them.

He was one of the best among us.

Tommy, you were more than a friend. You were a mentor to me.

I thank God for you.

Lord, please be with Tommy’s family at this time. I can only imagine their grief.  Be with Tommy’s church, as NRHBC goes through a time of grief as well.

They loved him deeply, therefore their grief will be deep as well.

Thank you for the life that Tommy lived among us. His life definitely enriched mine. I am better for knowing him. He is an example for me, as a man and minister, to live up to.

Lord, thanks for touching me through Tommy.

In Christ’s name,

Amen.

