Today’s sermon text is John 11: 17-27. I’ll be focusing on verses 25-36.

25 Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies; 26 and whoever lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?”

I’ve been running through the “I am” sayings of Jesus, as found in John’s gospel for quite a few weeks now. In a way, this text has been coming up for quite some time. While I planned to do this text, by the way of starting the series when I did. I did not plan on it so soon after Tommy Teague’s death. I couldn’t help but think of Tommy during every minute of sermon preparation.

I pray that God speaks through me today. I hope that God makes himself known throughout the whole worship service.

At the same time, I’m under no illusion that a large part of my preparation was the working out of my own grief in the midst of Tommy’s death.

I don’t know about you, but I have a hope. Since my Lord is the resurrection and life; I’m confident that I’ll see Tommy again. His Lord is my Lord, Jesus the Christ. We both have held this hope, this confidence. He has just realized it, seen it’s fruition before I have.

I so look forward to seeing Tommy again. I look forward to seeing him, and all of my friends and loved ones that have fallen asleep in the Lord.

His absence hurts, but it doesn’t diminish the hope…

If you don’t have that kind of hope, contact me. We need to talk.

tim@tikesbestfriend.com

Tim Dahl

