I think God may be trying to tell me something.

I’ve won two books on leadership over the past few weeks. Michael Hyatt, current Chairman of the Thomas Nelson Board of Directors (and past CEO) runs these types of giveaways everyone now and then. It just so happens that the past two were on leadership books.  The first book giveaway was “EntreLeadership,” by Dave RamseyThe second book giveaway was “The 5 Levels of Leadership,” by John C. Maxwell.  I am currently reading “Developing the Leader Within You,” by John C. Maxwell.

I went through my personal library today and picked out books related to leadership.

These aren’t all of them, but I would say most of them.  I’m sure someone out there has more; but these are mine. If you’re wondering, I’ve read most of them, but not all.

All this to say: I think God wants me to develop as a leader.

Just reading a book doesn’t make one a great leader. Information needs to be gained and assimilated. Again, I’ve read most of these book (not all), yet I’m not sure that I’ve assimilated any of it.

So, this is what I’m doing:

  • I’m reading books on leadership; and I’m going to take steps to truly ingest the information.
  • I’m going slow. I’m taking my time.
  • I’m taking notes. I’m reflecting upon each chapter before I go onto the next.
  • Finally, I’m defining how what I read can help me as a pastor, and choosing an action step to bring the information from the realm of theory into the realm of practice.

I’ll be sure to let you know how it goes!

What would you do to increase your leadership capacity?

Tim

