Tags

, , , , ,

I have a friend.

My friend has a high school aged child.

The child is deeply involved in church life. Seems to have a committed spiritual life. Even started a christian group at school.

My friend’s kid is also doing rather horribly academically.

We could talk about how we are supposed to honor God with our work; and school is the work of the teenager. I seem to remember Paul saying something about not working and not eating.

I think we could have a discussion about how doing our best in society (work for adults, school for teens) creates an opportunity for witness. Didn’t Paul make tents, living among the people gaining credibility and opportunity?

I bet we could make some sort of conversation around the idea that God uses the mundane, the every day, the ruts in our lives as points of transformation.  Didn’t David spend years after his anointing as King, still playing the part of the shepherd of his daddy’s sheep?  Did God use that time to create in him what He needed His would-be-King to be?

All this to say, maybe churches should have a No Pass, No Play Rule.  Sure parents can do that too, and we can encourage them in that! Churches could come alongside parents, encouraging their youth to at least pass their classes to be able to engage in special church activities…say…like mission trips, retreats, etc.

I wasn’t a straight A student.

I’ve never been the sharpest tool in the shed. The one thing that kept me engaged in the courses I found so utterly useless and boring was the No Pass, No Play Rule. Can’t churches, in some way, shape, form or fashion, come along side of parents in this?

What do you think? Bad idea? How can churches help out in this area?

Tim

